Who are the Councillors in Bristol?

Who are the Councillors in Bristol?

Councillor Donald Alexander. Avonmouth and Lawrence Weston.

  • Councillor Lesley Alexander. Frome Vale.
  • Councillor Amal Ali. Frome Vale.
  • Councillor Kerry Bailes. Hartcliffe and Withywood.
  • Councillor Jenny Bartle. Easton.
  • Councillor Nicola Beech. St George Central.
  • Councillor Marley Bennett. Eastville.
  • Councillor Mark Bradshaw.
  • How many Councillors are there in Bristol?

    Bristol City Council is the local authority of Bristol, England. The council is a unitary authority, and is unusual in the United Kingdom in that its executive function is controlled by a directly elected mayor of Bristol. Bristol has 35 wards, electing a total of 70 councillors.

    Does Bristol have a Labour council?

    The current political representation on the council is: Conservative: 14. Green: 24. Labour: 24.

    Do you get paid to be a Labour councillor?

    Members’ allowance scheme There is no salary for being a councillor, but you will be paid an allowance to reimburse you for time and expenses incurred whilst on council business.

    Who is mayor of Bristol?

    Marvin ReesSince 2016

    Who is leader of Bristol City Council?

    Marvin Rees is the elected Mayor of Bristol. Marvin Rees was first elected mayor in May 2016.

    How much does a councillor get paid UK?

    Councillors do not get paid a salary, however they do receive an annual allowance which reimburses them for time they have spent on council duties, as well as telephone and other office expenses. To find out more about councillor allowances, visit our councillors’ allowances section.

    How much is a councillors allowance?

    Councillors and co-opted committee/commission members are reimbursed for the actual subsistence costs they incur while carrying out council duties outside Newham. This allowance is limited to a maximum daily rate of £28.99 for meals and a maximum overnight rate of £116.15 per day for accommodation.

    Who is MP for Bristol?

    Darren Jones (politician)

    Darren Jones MP
    Preceded by Rachel Reeves
    Member of Parliament for Bristol North West
    Assumed office 8 June 2017

    Who is the mare of Bristol?

    The current Mayor is Marvin Rees, elected on 5 May 2016. The post of Lord Mayor of Bristol is a separate office, elected each May by city councillors and taking office on 29 September for a one-year period.

    Are councillors employees of the council?

    Unlike officers, who are paid employees of the council, councillors are not paid a salary. Councillors do, however, receive an allowance designed to recompense them for the work which they undertake.

    How do I contact my Bristol City Council councillors and candidates?

    Bristol City Council has 70 councillors and candidates, of which 37 are from the Labour Party, covering 22 of the city’s 35 wards. Click on the ward names below for your Labour councillors and candidates’ contact details. You can also write to any of them at Labour Group Office, City Hall, PO Box 3176, Bristol, BS3 9FS.

    Where can I write to the Labour Party in Bristol?

    You can also write to any of them at Labour Group Office, City Hall, PO Box 3176, Bristol, BS3 9FS. Don’t know which ward you live in?

    How is Bristol represented on the local government?

    The people of Bristol are represented by: Councillors: one, two or three councillors for each of city’s 34 wards, 70 councillors in total. Councillors make decisions on how to improve local services on behalf of local people and serve for a four year term. Mayoral and councillor elections are held every four years.

    What is the role of a local councillor?

    Local Councillors are elected by the community. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which they have been elected. They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.