Who served as deputy prime minister of Pakistan?

Who served as deputy prime minister of Pakistan?

Deputy Prime Minister of Pakistan

No. Name (Birth–Death)
1 Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi

Who became the prime minister of Pakistan in 2012?

Gillani was elected as prime minister in March 2008. He was disqualified from his seat in the parliament in April 2012 by the Supreme Court for contempt of court. Ashraf assumed the post of Prime Minister in June 2012, after Yousaf Raza Gillani was disqualified over contempt of court charges.

Who was Harper’s deputy prime minister?

Similarly, Prime Minister Stephen Harper did not designate a deputy prime minister, nor did Prime Minister Justin Trudeau until the appointment of Chrystia Freeland in his second mandate.

Who was 1st PM of Pakistan?

National Assembly of Pakistan

S/No Name Tenure
1 Mr. Liaqat Ali Khan 15-08-1947 To 16-10-1951
2 Khawaja Nazimuddin 17-10-1951 To 17-04-1953
3 Mr. Mohammad Ali Bogra 17-04-1953 To 11-08-1955
4 Ch. Mohammed Ali 11-08-1955 To 12-09-1956

When did Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto became prime minister?

Bhutto was sworn in as the prime minister of the country on 14 August 1973, after he had secured 108 votes in a house of 146 members. Fazal Ilahi Chaudhry was elected as the president under the new constitution.

When was the position of prime minister created?

The term prime minister in the current sense originated in the 18th century in the United Kingdom when members of parliament disparagingly used the title in reference to Sir Robert Walpole (whose official title was First Lord of the Treasury).

Why is there no deputy prime minister UK?

Unlike other countries, the position of Deputy Prime Minister is not always needed. Because of this there is not always a sitting Deputy Prime Minister. This means that it is up to the Prime Minister to choose whether or not he/she wants to have a deputy.

Who became second prime minister of Pakistan?

Who was the prime minister of Pakistan in 1979?

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto (Sindhi: ذوالفقار علي ڀٽو; Urdu: ذُوالفِقار علی بُھٹّو‎; 5 January 1928 – 4 April 1979) was a Pakistani barrister and politician who served as the ninth Prime Minister of Pakistan from 1973 to 1977, and prior to that as the fourth President of Pakistan from 1971 to 1973.

Who becomes prime minister if he dies?

The deputy prime minister is usually designated as the acting prime minister, although another senior member of the government may fill the role if both the prime minister and deputy prime minister are unavailable.

Who was the prime minister before Stephen Harper?

Prime ministers

No. Name (Birth–Death) District
20 Jean Chrétien (b. 1934) MP for Saint-Maurice, QC
21 Paul Martin (b. 1938) MP for LaSalle—Émard, QC
22 Stephen Harper (b. 1959) MP for Calgary Southwest, AB
23 Justin Trudeau (b. 1971) MP for Papineau, QC

What is the role of Deputy Prime Minister in Pakistan politics?

The main coalition party, Pakistan Muslim League (Q) (PML-Q), demanded to make a post of Deputy Prime Minister which was accomplished by the newly elected Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf. The main purpose of the post was to give a backup to the government in the absence of the Prime Minister.

Who was the caretaker Prime Minister of Pakistan in 2013?

Consequently, Khoso was sworn into office as the caretaker prime minister on 25 March 2013, while his caretaker federal cabinet was sworn into office on 2 April 2013. Following is the final list of registered voters in each district of Pakistan who are eligible to cast their vote.

How many prime ministers of Pakistan have been elected?

List of prime ministers of Pakistan Term Number Portrait Name Left office Elections 20 Nawaz Sharif (born 1949) 28 July 2017 2013 21 Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (born 1958) 31 May 2018 — 22 Imran Khan (born 1952) Incumbent 2018

Who became the Prime Minister of Pakistan in 2002?

Ordered by the Supreme Court, General Musharraf held general election in 2002, bearing Sharif and Benazir Bhutto from keeping the public office. With Zafarullah Jamali becoming the Prime minister in 2002, he left the office for Shaukat Aziz in 2004.