Common questions

What is the minimum child support payment in Massachusetts?

What is the minimum child support payment in Massachusetts?

$25 a month
If a parent has a weekly gross income of less than $115, the support guidelines recommend they pay $25 a month in child support. A judge can order a lower or higher payment if they think it would better fit the circumstances. The guidelines cap out at a yearly income of $250,000 for both parents combined.

What is the maximum amount of child support in Massachusetts?

At the maximum income, support is as follows based on 1, 2 or 3 children: $167+25%; $199+30% and $222+33%. If there are more than 3 children in the custodial home, the support shall be for no less than 3 children….Self-Prepared.

Massachusetts Divorce $59.00
MA Divorce & MSA Combo (best value) $89.00

How do I check my child support balance in Massachusetts?

You can request payment information at any time through our Automated Voice Response System by calling (800) 332-2733. Callers in the Boston area should call (617) 660-1234.

Can I go to jail for not paying child support?

In short, yes, you can go to jail for failing to pay your court-ordered child support. If you are more than 30 days late on a child support payment, your debt may be reported to a credit agency. The credit agency can contact you to collect on those past-due payments.

Can you waive child support in Massachusetts?

Supporting a child is viewed as the obligation of both parents, and the courts will not usually allow a parent to waive child support. The courts take the position that child support is something that the child is entitled to, so it isn’t something that the parents can negotiate.

Is child support retroactive in Massachusetts?

Under the law, a Probate Court can retroactively modify temporary orders at the time of trial, such that a parent who has been underpaying or overpaying child support throughout the case (at least in the eyes of the judge) can be required to pay (or receive) retroactive child support dating back to the date the …

How long do you pay child support in MA?

Child support is a parent’s court-ordered payment to help with the costs of raising a child. In Massachusetts, child support obligations normally last until the child turns 18 years old, but can continue until he or she turns 20 if the child is still in high school.

Is there a new child support calculator in Massachusetts?

You can find an unofficial, beta version (it may still have bugs) of the new calculator at October 4, 2021 Massachusetts Child Support Calculator. I mediate MA divorces in ALL Massachusetts counties and courts with live video conferencing on Zoom.

What is considered child support arrears in Massachusetts?

Child support arrears are the amount of child support that is delinquent, or unpaid, by the noncustodial parent to the custodial parent. Child support arrears may be collected by the state through wage garnishment, bank levy. withholding of Massachusetts welfare benefits, or other collection methods.

How much does the non-custodial parent pay in child support?

Therefore, the non-custodial parent pays $666 per month in child support, or 66.6% of the total child support obligation. This method of calculating child support is simple – a set percentage of the non-custodial parent’s income is paid monthly to the custodial parent to cover basic child support expenses.

What are the laws for child support enforcement in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts laws MGL c. 119A § 1A Child Support Enforcement. Defines