Popular lifehacks

What nationality is Jean-Claude Juncker?

What nationality is Jean-Claude Juncker?

Jean-Claude Juncker/Nationality
Jean-Claude Juncker (Luxembourgish: [ʒɑ̃ːkloːt ˈjuŋkɐ]; born 9 December 1954) is a Luxembourgish politician who served as the 21st Prime Minister of Luxembourg from 1995 to 2013 and 12th President of the European Commission from 2014 to 2019.

What language does Jean-Claude Juncker speak?

Jean-Claude Juncker/Languages

Who was the first president of European Union?

Walter Hallstein
Walter Hallstein

His Excellency Walter Hallstein
Hallstein in 1957
1st President of the European Commission
In office 7 January 1958 – 30 June 1967
First Vice-President Sicco Mansholt

Who are the 28 EU Commissioners?

  • High Representative/Vice-President In office. Josep Borrell Fontelles.
  • Commissioner In office. Thierry Breton.
  • Commissioner In office. Helena Dalli.
  • Executive Vice-President In office. Valdis Dombrovskis.
  • Commissioner In office. Elisa Ferreira.
  • Commissioner In office. Mariya Gabriel.
  • Commissioner In office.
  • Commissioner In office.

Who leads Luxembourg?

Xavier Bettel

His Excellency Xavier Bettel
Born 3 March 1973 Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Political party Democratic Party
Spouse(s) Gauthier Destenay ​ ( m. 2015)​
Alma mater Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Nancy 2 University

Who did von der Leyen replace?

Ursula von der Leyen
Assumed office 1 December 2019
First Vice-President Frans Timmermans
Preceded by Jean-Claude Juncker

Who was the last EU Commissioner?

Julian King (diplomat)

Sir Julian King GCMG KCVO
Official portrait, 2015
European Commissioner for the Security Union
In office 19 September 2016 – 30 November 2019
Nominated by David Cameron

How many commissioners are in Europe?

27 Commissioners
Composition. Political leadership is provided by a team of 27 Commissioners (one from each EU country) – led by the Commission President, who decides who is responsible for which policy area.

Is Luxembourg in the EU?

Luxembourg is a member country of the EU since January 1, 1958, with its geographic size of 2,586 km², and population number 562,958, as per 2015. Luxembourgers comprise 0.1% of the total EU population.