Who is the 14th speaker of Lok Sabha?

Who is the 14th speaker of Lok Sabha?

List of speakers

No. Name Tenure
14 Somnath Chatterjee 4 June 2004
15 Meira Kumar 4 June 2009
16 Sumitra Mahajan 6 June 2014
17 Om Birla 19 June 2019

How many speakers are there in Lok Sabha?

Lok Sabha
Term limits 5 years
Speaker Om Birla, BJP since 19 June 2019
Secretary General Utpal Kumar Singh since 30 November 2020

Who is the 6 Lok Sabha speaker?

Speaker: N. Sanjiva Reddy from 26 March 1977 to 13 July 1977. K. S. Hegde from 21 July 1977 to 21 January 1980.

How is the speaker of Lok Sabha elected?

In the Lok Sabha, the speaker and the deputy speaker both are elected from among its members by a simple majority of members present and voting in the house. There are no specific qualifications are prescribed for elected as the spear of the house.

How is Speaker chosen?

The Speaker is elected at the beginning of a new Congress by a majority of the Representatives-elect from candidates separately chosen by the majority- and minority-party caucuses. Speaker Pelosi is the 52nd individual to serve as Speaker of the House.

Who is Rajya Sabha Speaker now?

Rajya Sabha

House Chairperson Deputy Chairperson
Rajya Sabha Venkaiah Naidu Harivansh Narayan Singh

Who is 17th Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker?

List of Deputy Speakers

No. Name
Lok Sabha
14 Kariya Munda 15th
(8) M. Thambidurai 16th
Vacant 17th

Who is the current Speaker of Lok Sabha in India?

The current Lok Sabha speaker is Om Birla. There have been 17 terms of the Lok Sabha in India. Therefore we have provided a complete list of Lok Sabha speakers of India. You can check the same below. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the chairman and the highest authority of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India.

Who is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha?

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha. The speaker is elected in the very first meeting of the Lok Sabha following general elections. Serving for a term of five years, the Speaker chosen from amongst the members of the Lok Sabha, and is by convention a member of the ruling party or alliance.

What is the role of the Speaker of Rajya Sabha?

In the Rajya Sabha, the role of the Speaker is carried out by the Vice President of the country. His role is similar to that of the Lok Sabha Speaker, although the nomenclature is varied.

Who was the first woman Speaker of the Indian Parliament?

The first woman Speaker in the history of the Indian Parliament is Meira Kumar, who presided over the 15th Lok Sabha session beginning in 2009. The first Speaker in India was G V Mavlankar, who presided over the Lok Sabha from 1952 to 1956.