Who opened the Vancouver Olympics?

Who opened the Vancouver Olympics?

2010 Winter Olympics

Emblem of the 2010 Winter Olympics
Host city Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Opened by Governor General Michaëlle Jean
Cauldron Catriona Le May Doan Nancy Greene Wayne Gretzky Steve Nash
Stadium BC Place

Did Canada win the 2010 Olympics?

Canada won its first gold medal at an Olympic Games it hosted, having failed to do so at both the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal and the 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary. Canada finished first in gold medal wins and became the first host nation since Norway in 1952 to lead the gold medal count, with 14.

How many Olympic medals did Canada win 2010?

14 gold medals
Canada’s 14 gold medals were the most ever won by one country at a Winter Games while the 26 total medals was a Canadian high. Already the only athlete to ever win multiple medals at both the Summer and Winter Games, Clara Hughes was given the honour of carrying the Canadian flag into the Opening Ceremony.

When did Canada start competing in the Olympics?

The nation made its debut at the 1900 Summer Olympics. Canada competes under the IOC country code CAN.

Who got the most medals in 2010 Olympics?

Medal Tracker – Overall

Norway 9 23
Austria 4 16
Russia 3 15
South Korea 6 14
China 5 11

Who organized the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver?

Both the Olympic and Paralympic Games were organized by the Vancouver Organizing Committee (VANOC), headed by John Furlong. The 2010 Winter Olympics were the third Olympics hosted by Canada and the first by the province of British Columbia.

What was the weather like at the 2010 Winter Olympics?

The 2010 Games were also the first—Winter or Summer—to have had an Opening Ceremony held indoors. Greater Vancouver was the most populous metropolitan area ever to hold the Winter Games. In February, the month when the Games were held, Vancouver has an average temperature of 4.8 °C (40.6 °F).

How many countries entered teams in the 2010 Winter Olympics?

82 National Olympic Committees (NOC) entered teams in the 2010 Winter Olympics. Cayman Islands, Colombia, Ghana, Montenegro, Pakistan, Peru and Serbia made their winter Olympic debuts. Also Jamaica, Mexico and Morocco returned to the Games after missing the Turin Games.

Who designed the logo for the 2010 Winter Olympics?

Leo Obstbaum (1969–2009), the late director of design for the 2010 Winter Olympics, oversaw and designed many of the main symbols of the Games, including the mascots, medals and the design of the Olympic torches. The 2010 Winter Olympics logo was unveiled on April 23, 2005, and is named Ilanaaq the Inunnguaq.